• Hello guest! Are you a Bearded Dragon enthusiast? If so we invite you to join our community and see what it has to offer. Our site is specifically designed for you and it's a great place for Beardie enthusiasts to meet online. Once you join you'll be able to post messages, upload pictures of your dragons and enclosures and have a great time with other Bearded Dragon enthusiasts. Sign up today!

New owner :)

nikatina14

Bearded Dragon Egg
Hello :) I am new to owning a beardie and the one I have is very young and small, I love looking at him and have been just letting him get to know his new home for the past week that I've had him. I feel like its time to start trying to pet and possibly hold him but I am very nervous! He is so small and quick! Any advice would be appreciated:)

Also the other night I was looking at him and talking to him and he came up to the front and like laid down flat and stared at me, it was very cute and I was wondering if anyone knew what it could mean...

Thanks for reading!

PatsyB

Super Moderator
Staff member
1,000+ Post Club
Beardie Club
He wants you to touch him :)

Don't be nervous, start out slow. He's getting to know you as much as you are him. Start by reaching into his tank and gently rubbing his head. If he jumps or tries to bite you don't flinch, just keep at it. He needs to know you are not going to hurt him. You can also just hold him in his tank to get used to him. Always scoop him from the front so he can see you coming. They have a "third eye" on the top of their head that senses when possible danger is near so if you put your hand over him he might get scared.

nikatina14

Bearded Dragon Egg
That is great to hear:) thank you! I have never held a reptile before...so when I talk to him I always tell him um just as scared as he is :p my husband suggested wearing a glove the first few times, do you think that would be okay?

diegothediggy

Bearded Dragon Veteran
3 Year Member
Beardie Club