• Hello guest! Are you a Bearded Dragon enthusiast? If so we invite you to join our community and see what it has to offer. Our site is specifically designed for you and it's a great place for Beardie enthusiasts to meet online. Once you join you'll be able to post messages, upload pictures of your dragons and enclosures and have a great time with other Bearded Dragon enthusiasts. Sign up today!

Urgent advice needed on sick and injured dragon!

EmilySanderson

Bearded Dragon Egg
First of all let me say that I am a newbie to reptiles of any sort. I've done research but it's never enough, is it?

I'm looking after Beardie, a 7 year old male, for 2 months, leaving me with about 5 weeks left at the moment. Let me repeat: THIS IS NOT MY DRAGON, but I'm his temporary carer.

Over the past few days he became incredibly lethargic and wasn't eating so he's lost weight. I came down to see him earlier and found a cricket chewing on his tail, near his left hip. I completely panicked, got Beardie out of his tank (more about the tank in a second), got rid of all the crickets - threw them in the garden - and rushed Beardie to the only reptile vet in my country. Thank goodness for friends who can drive.

Beardie now has two stitches, topical and oral antibiotics, and some "critical care" food in a packet. He also has some calcium drops to go in his water. The vet was shocked at his state of health, even more so when I explained that Beardie has no heat lamp - I wasn't given one when he was delivered - and nor did he come with any calcium to be added to his food.

She examined him completely and said that he is dehydrated, underweight, and most likely has some degree of bone disorder due to the lack of calcium. He is also at risk of getting a bone disease as the injury is quite deep, almost exposing the hip bone. It's also fairly large, I think. An oval, about 1cm X 0.5cm.

He also may not survive.