• Hello guest! Are you a Bearded Dragon enthusiast? If so we invite you to join our community and see what it has to offer. Our site is specifically designed for you and it's a great place for Beardie enthusiasts to meet online. Once you join you'll be able to post messages, upload pictures of your dragons and enclosures and have a great time with other Bearded Dragon enthusiasts. Sign up today!

tempurture issues

chardust

Bearded Dragon Egg
Hi guys! its me again... sorry, i'm just new to all this stuff :) so, duckie (my beardie) has been sleeping a lot (im not sure what's normal) but maybe he's basking? i really dont know. when i hold him he just closes his eyes and to me looks like he's sleeping. BUT he also does this all day near his bulb. the first day or two i got him he seemed more energetic... now he's just seeming very lethargic. so I heard about brumination and was curious if that's what he was doing... because i'm only using a bulb and not a thermometer. it's been rainy and a little cold outside averaging about 12 degrees c. so i closed the door front door that my family keeps open and turned the thermostat from 15 to 20 c. I put the little sticker thermometer at the bottom of the tank near the bulb and when I came back it was only 93... it seemed a little too low. I came here looking for answers and read that it depends on where you test the temp from... so i measured the temp from about 2-3 inches below the bulb and it read about 103 which is great! but now I'm not really sure which measurement is correct and if he truly is warm... and im not sure if that's why he seems lethargic is because of that. the first two days he ate a bunch of crickets and when I switched over to worms yesterday he only ate one i think a possibly a couple greens. i kept his worms from yesterday to see if he would eat them but he's still just under his bulb. I plan on giving him more worms soon to see if he eats again but I'm not sure.