• Hello guest! Are you a Bearded Dragon enthusiast? If so we invite you to join our community and see what it has to offer. Our site is specifically designed for you and it's a great place for Beardie enthusiasts to meet online. Once you join you'll be able to post messages, upload pictures of your dragons and enclosures and have a great time with other Bearded Dragon enthusiasts. Sign up today!

Sick lizzy!

Daz2162

Bearded Dragon Egg
3 Year Member
Hi guys, im new to beardies and new to the forum, so id like to introduce myself. Im darren and i have a new beardie called lizzy. Had her for about 3 weeks now. Shes approx 4 months old.

Now im not going to lie but im struggling here abit, she started off like a live wire, she was nuts, so fun to watch, eating locusts like crazy, not really interested in greens in the slightest, but her hunting and interest in locusts was phenomenal!
Shes in a 4ft wooden viv with a hot spot of about 40+ Celsius and a cool spot of about 30 celcius which im desperately trying to lower, but my strip lights (12.0 uvb) create a fair bit of heat too which is a real pain, so i bought a fan, and its so bloody loud and im worried its affecting her. But the temp is still too high, loads of ventilation, not sure what to do!!

How often should i be dusting her food, at the moment im dusting the locusts in a bag every day before i put them in, is this too much??

Now the problem, she has become extremely lathergic just hiding away in her hide, letting the locusts walk around freely when i put them in, sometimes even on her!! Never ever see her basking, its very hard to get her to drink, she just really isnt interested in the slightest, just given her her first bath and even that didnt encourage her to drink, im worried shes dehydrated!!