• Hello guest! Are you a Bearded Dragon enthusiast? If so we invite you to join our community and see what it has to offer. Our site is specifically designed for you and it's a great place for Beardie enthusiasts to meet online. Once you join you'll be able to post messages, upload pictures of your dragons and enclosures and have a great time with other Bearded Dragon enthusiasts. Sign up today!

QUESTION....

C. Dixon

Bearded Dragon Egg
I have a bearded dragon. I got it in Oct. 2012. I think It was a few months old when I got it. The pet store told me it was a boy. I named it Buddy. ANYWAY.... fast forward to now....Buddy just started laying eggs (March 2016). This is the 3rd time in the past few months that this has happened. At what age do they start laying eggs? How often does it happen? Will she ever stop laying them? Is there anything special I need to do for her when she lays eggs? They are obviously not fertile (no male around). Please help. I'm new to this.

Attachments

• PART_1461692941887_IMG_20160426_133852822.jpg
    PART_1461692941887_IMG_20160426_133852822.jpg
    1 MB · Views: 40

Canicke

Super Moderator
Staff member
3 Year Member
1,000+ Post Club
SURPRISE !!! I really don't know much about this - a bit, but not much. When they lay, they usually do not lay all the eggs at one time - there can be several clutches (as you have found out) How long? don't know. Anything special ? - yes - she's gonna need extra calories and calcium. A lot of energy goes into production - even for infertile eggs - and the shells.

Hdrydr31

Bearded Dragon Veteran
Staff member
3 Year Member
1,000+ Post Club
Like Canicke I don't know much about gravid females except they need extra calcium to rebuild her supply...The only way to stop them is to spay her..

PatsyB

Super Moderator
Staff member
1,000+ Post Club
Beardie Club