• Hello guest! Are you a Bearded Dragon enthusiast? If so we invite you to join our community and see what it has to offer. Our site is specifically designed for you and it's a great place for Beardie enthusiasts to meet online. Once you join you'll be able to post messages, upload pictures of your dragons and enclosures and have a great time with other Bearded Dragon enthusiasts. Sign up today!

Play sand for substrate

Antwonlt

Bearded Dragon Egg
Hi i just got play sand for my beardie who is about 10 months old because I read it’s better than calcium sand for less of a chance of impaction. I just wanted to know how to wash and cook it? If it needs to be washed at all? Or can you just put play sand from Home Depot in for substrate as is?

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

Pikafuey

Hatchling Dragon
From what I was told (and read) reptile carpet or tile is the best for them. I was told not to use any sand at all, especially if they are still under a year. Though I'm a beginner myself, so I can't say 100% for sure

Antwonlt

Bearded Dragon Egg
From what I was told (and read) reptile carpet or tile is the best for them. I was told not to use any sand at all, especially if they are still under a year. Though I'm a beginner myself, so I can't say 100% for sure

Yes that’s what I’ve seen as well but the only issue with them is the carpet gets stained and the tile gets smeared. I read that “washed” kids play sand is okay because unlike calcium sand it doesn’t bind together if swallowed and will stay separated so it is safe. I’m just unsure how to wash it

PatsyB

Super Moderator
Staff member
1,000+ Post Club
Beardie Club