• Hello guest! Are you a Bearded Dragon enthusiast? If so we invite you to join our community and see what it has to offer. Our site is specifically designed for you and it's a great place for Beardie enthusiasts to meet online. Once you join you'll be able to post messages, upload pictures of your dragons and enclosures and have a great time with other Bearded Dragon enthusiasts. Sign up today!

Planned Setup Opinions/Advice

keykaye

Bearded Dragon Egg
So now that i know what form of substrate im going to use for my future beardie. I wanted experienced owners opinions/advice on what I'm planning to buy and set up. I'm getting a 5 ft cage from boa master heres the link: http://www.boamaster.com/index.php?route=product/product&path=1_9&product_id=6
The maker is going to put in a screen mesh top for me so i cont have to work with tools to install lights (im not that good with power tools, and i don't want my step dad screwing up a $300 cage). With this cage, i want advice/tips on heating the over all enclosure, not just the basking area.
I'm planning on getting this UVB/UVA bulb, it'll be 46 inches with its corresponding 48 inch hood. http://www.drsfostersmith.com/product/prod_display.cfm?pcatid=25696&pvid=97961&productnum=0082902
http://www.drsfostersmith.com/product/prod_display.cfm?pcatid=25698&pvid=97967&productnum=0082906
Then i was going to get this heat emitter, but i dont know what wattage i should get, and what i should put it into.
http://www.drsfostersmith.com/produ...39&pvid=76855&productnum=0035316#BVQAWidgetID
This is where i get confused though. I'm not really sure on how to set up a gradient temperature inside the enclosure. Then when it gets colder during the winter months, do i need to heat all of the enclosure at night and if so how do i go about doing it. There have been times when it gets to the lower 60's where i live.
Sorry if im not explaining things well, im just trying to make sure i dont mess anything up.

RaeAnn

Bearded Dragon Veteran