• Hello guest! Are you a Bearded Dragon enthusiast? If so we invite you to join our community and see what it has to offer. Our site is specifically designed for you and it's a great place for Beardie enthusiasts to meet online. Once you join you'll be able to post messages, upload pictures of your dragons and enclosures and have a great time with other Bearded Dragon enthusiasts. Sign up today!

newbie here

kennedy

Bearded Dragon Egg
3 Year Member
Hello to everyone. I just got my first Bearded Dragon today. His name is yet to be determined. I have kept snakes in the past but this is my first lizard. So any tips anyone has for me are always welcomed. Thanks for having me in your forum!

zebraflavencs

Bearded Dragon Egg
3 Year Member
1,000+ Post Club
Welcome to the wide wild world of dragon keeping..(say that fast 3 times !)

Okay, a few( okay who am I kidding several) suggestions for you.

Enclosure size: a 20L is good as a starter, however a 36" x 18" x 18" (40 gal breeder tank) is the minimum size an adult will need, so there are your goals.

You'll want a uvb, if in the states use the Reptisun...10.0; If in UK the Arcadia 12%; if down under in Aus or NZ, the NEC t 8 blacklight.

This tube needs to be 6"-8" distance from basking spot.
You will want to invest in a house hold bulb or flood light for the basking bulb.. don't spend extra on a dedicated 'basking" bulb at the pet shop.
Be sure to change them out every 6 months.

Supplements: Rep-cal with D3 is great 5 days a week, one dusting on feeder insects and salad.
Herptivite is an awesome vitamin to help baby grow healthy. 2 days a week, different days then the calcium.

Temps: for juveniles under a year in age: Basking-103-120*F, warm side (air temp) 85-95*F, cool side (away from the basking area/ opposite side of enclosure) 75-85*F, over night temps should not fall below 65*F.