• Hello guest! Are you a Bearded Dragon enthusiast? If so we invite you to join our community and see what it has to offer. Our site is specifically designed for you and it's a great place for Beardie enthusiasts to meet online. Once you join you'll be able to post messages, upload pictures of your dragons and enclosures and have a great time with other Bearded Dragon enthusiasts. Sign up today!

new baby Beardie

Beardeddragon1

Hatchling Dragon
I’m new to keeping bearded dragons, I got mine yesterday he’s a juvenile around 4 months. I was wondering when would be best to start trying to handle him ? He eats fine and takes food from the tongs occasionally however, he does seem a bit skitish.

Janelle

Juvenile Dragon
With a skittish one, I'd give him a week or so to settle in. Then I'd start setting my hand in the tank without touching him a few times a day, letting him get used to being in there. Then I'd slowly start petting him, without picking him up. Once he seems to tolerate touching well, I'd start holding him IN the tank. When he's good with that, I'd start lifting him out and handling him more.

Remember to approach him from the side, rather than reaching toward him from above. They are preyed upon by birds, so they are naturally wary of anything "flying" down at them from overhead.

Beardeddragon1

Hatchling Dragon
Do you think I should try and pet him in a few days to see how he reacts. If he reacts bad Ill go with putting my hand in before etc. But if he reacts well I’ll continue petting him in the tank to gain his trust ?

Janelle

Juvenile Dragon
There’s no exact science to this, and ultimately, he’s your beardie. Do as seems suitable to you. If you’re dying to touch him in a couple of days, go ahead and try to pet him. If he doesn’t like it, back off for another couple of days. But if he puffs when you touch him, don’t pull away immediately, or you’ll teach him that that behavior makes you go away, and it will reinforce it. Does that all make sense?