• Hello guest! Are you a Bearded Dragon enthusiast? If so we invite you to join our community and see what it has to offer. Our site is specifically designed for you and it's a great place for Beardie enthusiasts to meet online. Once you join you'll be able to post messages, upload pictures of your dragons and enclosures and have a great time with other Bearded Dragon enthusiasts. Sign up today!

I'm a newbie and need help with light, heat, cage, everything!

Laura Smith

Bearded Dragon Egg
So, my daughter decided she really wanted a bearded dragon and did what I thought was adequate research and used her Christmas money to buy a baby dragon and 20 gal tank. While at the pet store, she asked if they like to live alone, or if they need friends (first red flag that she didn't research very well!) and the salesman said if they grow up together, they do fine together. Oy!

So, we got two dragons (Fred and Merlin - though we are not sure yet if they are boys or girls) and setup the 20 gallon tank, and so far so good. However, when one kept sitting on the other, I googled it and learned that they should NOT live together. So, I bought a 40 gallon tank, and we moved Merlin into it.

Merlin wasn't as active though, and I felt he was cold. Upon further research, I realized we probably made every mistake in the book, and this adventure has cost me hundreds of dollars now! I am not complaining, because the little dragons have captured my heart! But, they are more complicated than human babies!