• Hello guest! Are you a Bearded Dragon enthusiast? If so we invite you to join our community and see what it has to offer. Our site is specifically designed for you and it's a great place for Beardie enthusiasts to meet online. Once you join you'll be able to post messages, upload pictures of your dragons and enclosures and have a great time with other Bearded Dragon enthusiasts. Sign up today!

Hi I'm new to Beardies

Fran

Bearded Dragon Egg
3 Year Member
Hi everyone, I am quite new to the Beardie front and have just purchased 2 little babies... Well I say babies but they are about 7 - 8 weeks old and full of energy!
I have been told by my reptile supplier to leave their heat light on all the time, therefore keeping the vivarium temperature at a constant; 100 - 105f... and turn the UV off at night... i work on a 14/10 night/day..... I have searched and researched on line and most advice i have been given says that temperatures should be reduced to replicate their natural night time conditions i.e 60f (which is about 15 -16 degrees celsius).
Also I am unsure of what kind of greens are good and whether they need to be par cooked before feeding them, for example if i had curly cabbage does it need to be softened first?

Please help me..I feel like a little lizard in a big desert! ::)

Many Thanx x

renich

Juvenile Dragon
3 Year Member
1,000+ Post Club
Hi and welcome to the forum! Congrats on your babies. You are right about the night light. Beardies need complete darkness to have a great night's rest. As long as temps don't drop below 65F, you are good to go. If they do fall below that, you can use a ceremic heat emitter to get viv temps up.

Here is a link to our basic caresheet. Give it a read and let us know if you have any questions -
Bearded Dragon Care

zebraflavencs

Bearded Dragon Egg
3 Year Member
1,000+ Post Club
Welcome Fran to the wild world of dragon keeping !
Welcome to our little corner of sanity.. ;)
Janie

corrine

Bearded Dragon Egg
3 Year Member