• Hello guest! Are you a Bearded Dragon enthusiast? If so we invite you to join our community and see what it has to offer. Our site is specifically designed for you and it's a great place for Beardie enthusiasts to meet online. Once you join you'll be able to post messages, upload pictures of your dragons and enclosures and have a great time with other Bearded Dragon enthusiasts. Sign up today!

Away for the weekend advice

alainamarae99

Bearded Dragon Egg
Hello all! I just got my first bearded dragon about a month ago and haven't had previous experience with handling them before. I am a college student and am planning to go home this coming weekend (Friday-Sunday) and am wondering about the best plan of action for care. My bearded dragon is approximately 3 months old, is currently in a 40 gallon tank, and will only eat live crickets. I have no one to take care of him while I am gone and as seeing as he is so young and hasn't eaten anything other than crickets I hesitate to leave vegetables in the cage, as some discussion pages have suggested. As of now I am leaning towards taking him with me when I go home. The drive would only be about an hour and I would buy a completely new set up for when I go home. Is this the best course of action or what would you all suggest? Also, if I do buy a new tank does it need to be a 40 gallon tank or would a smaller one suffice for a few short days at a time and what would you suggest for transportation? Any advice is extremely appreciated because I am reading a lot of contradicting information!

Thanks!

BeardedHippy

Bearded Dragon Veteran