• Hello guest! Are you a Bearded Dragon enthusiast? If so we invite you to join our community and see what it has to offer. Our site is specifically designed for you and it's a great place for Beardie enthusiasts to meet online. Once you join you'll be able to post messages, upload pictures of your dragons and enclosures and have a great time with other Bearded Dragon enthusiasts. Sign up today!

2.5 month old nipping?

BeardieMama40

Bearded Dragon Egg
Hello! Newbie here. We have a 2.5 month old Beardie, and we just adore him! We’ve got his tank dialed in, nutrition, he’s eating and pooping well, had a good shed, all good signs. Since we’ve had him - about 10 days - he’s nipped us a handful of times. We’ve stayed calm, not let it stop us from holding him, practiced being extra calm, etc. We come to him from the side vs the top so we don’t feel threatening. Given he’s still young and it’s a completely new environment for him, I’m giving him the benefit of the doubt and plan to continue working with him and being patient. Otherwise he seems to happily hang out with us for little chunks of time, sits on us, let’s us pet his back and tail (we don’t touch his head as his third eye seems ultra sensitive). My question is - are we going about this correctly? Anything else we should do? We really want him to be as happy as possible and not be biting anyone as he gets bigger. Will he chill out? Open to all experiences and advice!

Attachments

• BE0C84E1-2619-4F74-B81C-E9022DC95CF3.jpeg
    BE0C84E1-2619-4F74-B81C-E9022DC95CF3.jpeg
    1.5 MB · Views: 5

Bailey

Bearded Dragon Veteran
3 Year Member
Hi here are some tips I have for dealing with scared or nervous babies!

For starters, repeatedly trying to handle your scared dragon may stress it out more! Know their limits, if it seems scared or if it bites, put him back and just start with smaller steps; for example, just pet him inside his tank if he is comfortable with that.