• Hello guest! Are you a Bearded Dragon enthusiast? If so we invite you to join our community and see what it has to offer. Our site is specifically designed for you and it's a great place for Beardie enthusiasts to meet online. Once you join you'll be able to post messages, upload pictures of your dragons and enclosures and have a great time with other Bearded Dragon enthusiasts. Sign up today!

Why do people use sand?

LizardOfOz

Bearded Dragon Egg
I'm a newbie at beardie keeping so I've been doing a lot of research on forums. I have read that sand can cause impaction over and over again. So my question is why do people use it? I get that the pet shops sell it to new owners to make a profit but a lot of well respected keepers and breeders seem to use it for their adults too. Do bearded dragons seem happier in a more natural setting? Is it more hygenic? Or Is it just because it looks nice?
All thoughts welcome :0)

Diaspora

Hatchling Dragon
I use sand.. I'm not worried about the impaction or whatever
Imo they're meant to live in the desert so I think they're genetically build to eat on it too
I just saw my female beardie eat paper while changing her tank.. I don't think it's any safer
Plus, sand looks great :p

Nichole1228

Juvenile Dragon
I use sand too!! I thought about tile until my husband and I got in a debate about it! Like he said they come from the desert and u know they eat it when they live in the wild. And he had another good point, ur already locking them up so wouldn't u want it to be more like home!

jarich

Bearded Dragon Veteran