• Hello guest! Are you a Bearded Dragon enthusiast? If so we invite you to join our community and see what it has to offer. Our site is specifically designed for you and it's a great place for Beardie enthusiasts to meet online. Once you join you'll be able to post messages, upload pictures of your dragons and enclosures and have a great time with other Bearded Dragon enthusiasts. Sign up today!

New with new Beardie

Ozzie&Dino

Juvenile Dragon
Hello! I am new to BD but not to reptiles. I have had my Veil Chameleon for 2yrs and a couple of days ago I amswered an ad on Craiglist and went and got an adult male Beardie. He has been in a 20 gallon tank his whole life ( He is 3 1/2 yrs old) He is very sweet and orange in color. I went out as soon as I got him home and settled and bought him a 40 gallon breeder tank with screen mesh top and a stand and he had no UVB or UVA bulbs at all so I bought him a light strip and bought a desert florescent bulb but I am going to order him some Arcadia bulbs and a new fixture soon. He has 150 watt basking light on one side and a red bulb that the original owners used as a night light. ( I am not sure if he needs that?)

He eats his veggies very well. I grind up Dandelion, kale, turnip greens. He also loves squash and Zucchini. Mango, . He will not eat carrots though. Is sweet potato ok? He loves his crickets and butterworms. I am glad to be here to learn more about these wonderful reptiles :)

010Yuki.jpg

Germ

Bearded Dragon Veteran
3 Year Member
1,000+ Post Club
Welcome2d.jpg

He looks to be a very handsome Dragon. Good job on the larger enclosure & getting him some UVB coverage.

Please be sure that you are measuring your temps in the right places. Basking temps must be measure directly at the basking spot with a digital thermometer that has a sensor\probe that can be placed\attached on\to the basking spot itself.