• Hello guest! Are you a Bearded Dragon enthusiast? If so we invite you to join our community and see what it has to offer. Our site is specifically designed for you and it's a great place for Beardie enthusiasts to meet online. Once you join you'll be able to post messages, upload pictures of your dragons and enclosures and have a great time with other Bearded Dragon enthusiasts. Sign up today!

left eye cut dragon help!!

lmcf005

Bearded Dragon Egg
3 Year Member
hi i work as a landscaper and unfortunately my coworker hit a bearded dragon 2 days ago and cut its left eye out, i put it into the bush but came back 24 hours later and it was still sitting in the same place, so now i took it home and put it in a cleaned fish tank with sand and a rock and some crickets and water. its not eating, or really moving much havent got a light yet to keep it warm so keeping the kettle next to it with hot water in it till tomorow when i go to the shops to buy a light for warmth and a uv light. any advice of what i should do to the wound, and general health its pretty agressive when i touch it, would it do me any harm if it bit me? im worried its gona not eat hasnt eaten for 3 days now. never owned one before so all advice appreciated.

zebraflavencs

Bearded Dragon Egg
3 Year Member
1,000+ Post Club
Okay, a few things you will need to make sure are provided:
A proper UVB light.
A heat source from lights.
No substrate but paper towels.

Most dragons go through a time period called relocation stress, and if this is a wild dragon ( are you in Aus ?) you might want to find a local to you, folks that actually help out wild dragons, then rerelease them back into the wild.

If you are not in the Outback, then same goes for above.
You must allow the dragon to get used to you, with luck it has only been loose from past owners for a few days.