• Hello guest! Are you a Bearded Dragon enthusiast? If so we invite you to join our community and see what it has to offer. Our site is specifically designed for you and it's a great place for Beardie enthusiasts to meet online. Once you join you'll be able to post messages, upload pictures of your dragons and enclosures and have a great time with other Bearded Dragon enthusiasts. Sign up today!

Live Feeding Confusion

devioustearex

Bearded Dragon Egg
Hello!

I am new to keeping a bearded dragon (or to be keeping) and I am trying to understand how to be able to feed her daily. I understand her diet is to now be 80% greens and 20% protein. I also understand to always add calcium to the veggies and to the bugs (if not already enriched) and twice a week feed a vitamin mix.

I am confused on how often I should give crickets or dubia roaches to a 3 year old beardie. I also and concerned on how to keep the live food each week (or is it a buy daily task?)

Thank you,

devious

devioustearex

Bearded Dragon Egg
Live insects should be fed 2-3 times per week --- dusted w/ calcium D3 unless you have a UVB that is a bulb that has D3 provided --- those are the Arcadia bulbs and very good - if so you can dust w/ out calcium D3 -- vitamins can be provided 2 x per week also dusting on the bugs -- alternate your dusting -
here is a list of websites for insects I recommend dubia roaches they are the healthiest and last longer than crickets -they dont chirp and they dont stink like crickets ---
Get a 10 gallon aquarium or tote and you can order dubias and other worms off of these sites
www.dubiaroaches.com - this place is good and fast they carry horn worms which are a hydrating worm and they grow really fast so order small amounts - butter worms - super worms and meal worms - they all can be addicting so feed sparingly - 1-3 -- your 10 gallon aquarium will hold like 200 roaches at a time feed them dubia food or stuff your dragon eats and carrots for hydration - they like squash ---