• Hello guest! Are you a Bearded Dragon enthusiast? If so we invite you to join our community and see what it has to offer. Our site is specifically designed for you and it's a great place for Beardie enthusiasts to meet online. Once you join you'll be able to post messages, upload pictures of your dragons and enclosures and have a great time with other Bearded Dragon enthusiasts. Sign up today!

Is it ethical to breed beardies just for fun?

Snakesox

Bearded Dragon Egg
I’ve always wanted to try my hand at breeding reptiles and although I’m new to beardie keeping, I’m just in love with my little one.
I’m really just mulling it over atm, I have no solid plans to mate her when she’s older, but I keep wondering if it’s actually ethical to be considering this at all.
With dogs, a good breeder will be trying to improve the breed and so will have selected dogs based on a large criteria of things. I’m not sure this is the same in the Herp world, but if so I obviously don’t have a clue about it and would just be breeding with pets.
And it wouldn’t be improving her life any would it? laying eggs isn’t going to offer her any enrichment, possibly the opposite?
So the only benefit is really to me. I see ads for unwanted beardies quite a lot, so if I was to consider this down the line, am I just adding to an already overflowing market of unwanted pets?

I don’t expect to make much money and I know it will cost a bomb and a lot of my time before I was even to get to that part, but I’m thinking this now because my girl is approaching 8 months and preferably I’d like to raise the male she’d be mated with so I can be sure of their health.
If anyone has any insights I’d love to hear them.
thanks.

HoomanSlave

Bearded Dragon Veteran
3 Year Member
If you're a casual keeper, I wouldn't recommend breeding.