• Hello guest! Are you a Bearded Dragon enthusiast? If so we invite you to join our community and see what it has to offer. Our site is specifically designed for you and it's a great place for Beardie enthusiasts to meet online. Once you join you'll be able to post messages, upload pictures of your dragons and enclosures and have a great time with other Bearded Dragon enthusiasts. Sign up today!

considering getting a BD

thorn

Hatchling Dragon
Hello all I am considering getting a BD and I have read everything on a few other sites. I was just wondering how long can they spend out side of their tank before it gets unhealthy. If i want to pick him/her up and hold and pet them how long is to long? I have been told that they love attention if you raise them right.

Chris Baez Jr.

Juvenile Dragon
Good question, they do love to be held, and they like to play. But I'm new at this myself, so we'll wait for the experts to give us an answer.

Get one, you won't regret it. I didn't even like them 'till there was one literally in my house. It's been just over a week and I still feel like a kid on Christmas day.

thorn

Hatchling Dragon
The only reason why I'm just considering it is because I just got a jackson cham like 3 weeks ago and he takes so much dam care right now. I was woe fully unprepared for what i was getting into with a cham even tho i did like 2 weeks worth of research online. I know a person who rescues reptiles and I'm considering "trading" my jackson for an adult male BD that some one gave to her as a rescue. She says its as friendly as a puppy dog.

Asia Lorraine

Hatchling Dragon
Only you can answer the question on if you should get a beardie or not however my beardie Otto is my first reptile to ever own and its not that his care is easy but from what I read on reptiles beardies are good for beginners and Jacksons are more for experienced people. I agree with Chris though. Once the more experienced guys get on you might find the answer you need.

thorn