• Hello guest! Are you a Bearded Dragon enthusiast? If so we invite you to join our community and see what it has to offer. Our site is specifically designed for you and it's a great place for Beardie enthusiasts to meet online. Once you join you'll be able to post messages, upload pictures of your dragons and enclosures and have a great time with other Bearded Dragon enthusiasts. Sign up today!

Big screen cage ok?

Larsa

Bearded Dragon Egg
Hi everyone! Newbie here! I plan on getting my first bearded dragon within the next few months and I am researching right now before getting and soon trying to set everything up. I live in texas and it stays hot and very dry in my apt. I have a left over screen cage from my chameleon that is 18inWx 18inL,x24in H. I know bearded dragons love to climb! I see so many bearded dragons in glass terrariums but I have huge problems keeping glass inclosures "dry" in my apt in fact in my old 10 gal it was like 95% humidity!!!!!!!! I also wanna note that even with a screen top on the 10 gal terrarium, it was still pretty humid, especially if I had a small water dish omg it would get ridiculously humid in there!!! There was just some rocks, hygrometer, and thermometer in there at one point and it was still humid!. 0.O My screen terrarium stays super dry so much like the rest of my apt that I had to use a humidifier and a LOT of plants to keep my cham's humidity at just at a tolerable 60%. I obviusly will get the 100 watt heating bulb and reptisun 10.0 uva/uvb bulb too. I am hoping that if I can test out the temperatures for a week in my screen terrarium, hopefully I can achieve a bearded dragon's required temps and low humidity levels. I wanna point out that I dont turn on my AC in the summer, I just kinda blow a fan on me! LOL. I dont mind the hot temp. My average apt temperature is near 76F- 82F so hopefully it wont be too hard to get the terrarium hot and keep the humidity low. So is my screen encloser ok for a baby bearded dragon? Here