• Hello guest! Are you a Bearded Dragon enthusiast? If so we invite you to join our community and see what it has to offer. Our site is specifically designed for you and it's a great place for Beardie enthusiasts to meet online. Once you join you'll be able to post messages, upload pictures of your dragons and enclosures and have a great time with other Bearded Dragon enthusiasts. Sign up today!

Beardie breathing - normal?

Dwaggie

Bearded Dragon Egg
hey all!

i noticed a few days ago, that my beardie (she's 5) sometimes "gulps" down air, often taking a big breath right after.
since i'm new to beardies, i'm not sure this is normal behavior.
i made a video to try and show it, and you can kinda see what i mean at around 0:13 seconds into the video, and near the end of the video
after that, you can see her taking bigger breaths (once my hand is out of the shot again, sorry about that)

she's been kept on playsand all her life, and i've been keeping her on it, too, since i got her (2 months ago), but i'm preparing to switch it out for linoleum... stuff. not tiles, but the sheet stuff (like this: http://www.parkett-naturbaustoffe.de/images/Linoleum/Linoleumbahnen.jpg )
so...
does this look normal/okay? or do i need to do something?

there is no sound in her breathing at all. she only hisses at me in the mornings
she's also become SUPER grumpy/stressed in the morning, and i haven't yet figured why that is.
her beard will be black, and she even had stress spots on her belly today. usually, when i take her out and let her sit on me / pet her a bit, it quickly smoothes out and she'll turn back to her normal color and relax

i'm not sure these things are related.

as for general info:
i add calcium and vitamins to her veggies/bugs every other feeding
she's on sand