• Hello guest! Are you a Bearded Dragon enthusiast? If so we invite you to join our community and see what it has to offer. Our site is specifically designed for you and it's a great place for Beardie enthusiasts to meet online. Once you join you'll be able to post messages, upload pictures of your dragons and enclosures and have a great time with other Bearded Dragon enthusiasts. Sign up today!

beard problem?

athazagoraphobia

Bearded Dragon Egg
3 Year Member
I just got this girl back from a negligent home. She is very thin and I'm not sure what other problems she may have. The bottom of her beard has a smooth, leathery white patch of skin. When I had her a couple years ago this was not there. I am not very experienced with beardies so I dont know if this is normal? However I've never seen this on another dragon. Any ideas? Should I be worried?

2hx6845.jpg

2ztc2n6.jpg

renich

Juvenile Dragon
3 Year Member
1,000+ Post Club
I agree with Sandy. Definitely an old battle wound. Do you know anything about her past?

athazagoraphobia

Bearded Dragon Egg
3 Year Member
I bought her as an adult a few years ago and had to hand her over to family because of living conditions. They live out of town so I've only gotten to see her recently, and took her home. They dont know whats happened to her.. didnt even notice the problem. She was in a large cage by herself so I dont see how it could be a battlescar. I do want to take her to the vet, but I'm in the process of moving and just spent money to get my cat spayed.. so I wont be able to until next month. Taking her home was an on the spot decision.. She looked horribly thin and I just couldnt leave her there.

ladyknite

Bearded Dragon Egg
3 Year Member
1,000+ Post Club
athazagoraphobia -Interesting screen name. The fear of being forgotten.

From the picture, the area appears to be a healed burn. Maybe from a bulb or heat rock. It doesn't appear to be infected from the photos, but it is hard to be certian from here.