• Hello guest! Are you a Bearded Dragon enthusiast? If so we invite you to join our community and see what it has to offer. Our site is specifically designed for you and it's a great place for Beardie enthusiasts to meet online. Once you join you'll be able to post messages, upload pictures of your dragons and enclosures and have a great time with other Bearded Dragon enthusiasts. Sign up today!

New beardie owner here

smackey

Bearded Dragon Egg
3 Year Member
hi guys, im a noob to lizard world and i just got a juvenile bearded dragon 2 days ago. I bought the 40 gallon exo-terra terranium for his enclosure. I also have the 100W basking bulb and the resptisun 10.0 for the ubv. Here is the pic of the enclosure.
IMG_1243.jpg

What do you guys think of the setup? Did I place the lights correctly? The temp on cold side is 77F and the basking spot is 98F.
I noticed that my beardie is not moving a lot and usually he will bask just under the log. he will also stay in one spot for hours without moving.
IMG_1241.jpg

I have to move him manually into the top of the log so that he could get more heat.
IMG_1244.jpg

he also don't have a lot of apetite and will not move to eat. It would have to be in front of him so he would eat it. Yesterday he ate 1 mealworm and 1 small cricket. I noticed that he is also shedding skin on his legs. Is that the reason why he is not moving and eating a lot? i would appreciate any suggestions and tips. thank you guys.

Josh

Administrator
Staff member
3 Year Member
1,000+ Post Club
Hello and welcome! It is normal for dragons to bask and lay out for a while. It's not normal for him to not be eating voraciously. Are you positive the areas he can reach are hot enough for a basking spot?
Is the ambient warm enough to keep him happy? Sometimes with such large enclosure and tiny dragons, they can get drafty and feel cold or vulnerable being out in the relative open

smackey

Bearded Dragon Egg
3 Year Member