• Hello guest! Are you a Bearded Dragon enthusiast? If so we invite you to join our community and see what it has to offer. Our site is specifically designed for you and it's a great place for Beardie enthusiasts to meet online. Once you join you'll be able to post messages, upload pictures of your dragons and enclosures and have a great time with other Bearded Dragon enthusiasts. Sign up today!

My adult bearded dragon DIED? mystified! HELP!

SamTX

Bearded Dragon Egg
3 Year Member
My adult bearded dragon DIED? mystified!?
HELP!!!
I am a beginner to bearded dragon (started reading ab 1 month a go). Long story short: I got an adult bearded dragon (7" body to head;16" total) and tank last night. I was told is a sandfire dragon and shedding ( i can see the sheded skin while cleaning).
So I decided to clean the tank and put in a mat. I place him outside in the sun, in a blue big, huge plastic container (about 75 gal big) while i clean the tank. He started to get a bit aggressive and tried to get out, running around. I don't hear anything after about 30-45 mins and he got stiffed, unresponsive, eyes closed partially.
I think he is dead, but WHY? HOW?

extra info: last night was uneventful, this morning he is not active but responsive. Came for lunch when i put in chopped broccoli, green bell pepper, cucumber, blueberry (not been eaten). He ated a little. His beard is very black when trying to get out of the plastic case, and still is. The container was previously use for clothing when moved. Outside temp is listed 86F at 2 hrs later (3-4 pm), TX weather.
I'm stumped. I thought the sun was supposed to be good the dragon. Did it died to exhaustion? de-hydrated? Fear (from the bird sounds and such outside)???

any ideas? anyone???

renich

Juvenile Dragon
3 Year Member
1,000+ Post Club
So sorry for your loss and sorry you had to join the forum under these circumstances.

What kind of plastic container did you use? Did you have a top on the container?